Old Hat • The Brains Behind Pa

7 Songs • 34 minutes
Released 06.02

1. Ain't No More Cane
2. Trail of the Buffalo
3. Worried Blues
4. Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie
5. Corrina, Corrina
6. Soul of a Man
7. Gospel Plow

Old Hat is an almost-all acoustic album. The Brains Behind Pa select some of their favorite traditional folk and blues songs to reinterpret. From the cowboy disaster story in "Trail of the Buffalo" and the bluegrass-tinged, Elizabeth Cotten classic, "Oh, Babe It Ain't No Lie" on through to the lonesome cry of "Soul of a Man" and the beauty of "Gospel Plow." Old Hat captures a band showing their respect for traditional material, but also revealing their desire to make these songs their own. Old Hat has received airplay on college and independent radio across the U.S., Canada and Europe.

Recorded, mixed and mastered at The Lodge, Winter 2001/2002 by Michael Graham. Released June, 2002

  • Gordon Bonham: Acoustic Guitar, Vocals, National Steel Guitar, Electric Guitar, Banjo
  • Bill Price: Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin, Harmonica
  • Garry Bole: Mandolin, Accordion, Vocals
  • Jeff Chapin: Drums